This is my story of how I became a speaker and why did it take so long? Part 1 of ... ;) #JoelKallmanDay

This is my story of how I became a speaker and why did it take so long? Part 1 of ... ;) #JoelKallmanDay

Introduction

When I was at my interview at the company where I work in 2017, the very professional recruiter was also very tired. He told me that because of jet lag, and just got back from a conference in the US. And my first thought was:

How much time do I have to study to have something to say at an international conference in the USA about this new technology for me, which was APEX? Spoiler alert: It turned out to be 4 years…

However, before I was able to fly to an international conference, I spoke during an online event. These were widely different experiences, and in this article, I'd like to share my observations on how they compare.

But... why?

But first, I'd like to tell you why I wanted to write this article. A trip to a foreign conference is not only a handshake from the famous people from Oracle, glitter, splendor and the proverbial champagne in Rio.

It is primarily building your brand against the international background, trying to be recognizable in the industry, not bringing shame, on the contrary, representing the company against the international background.

It is also hard work, but also great satisfaction when at the very end of the presentation you say "thank you for your attention" and get applause.

The first pancake is always spoiled

When I found out in December 2020 that my abstract had been accepted for an international conference, I was happysad. And this feeling I also told the participants during my presentation, because on the one hand, I was filled with happiness and adrenaline that finally, after 4 years of hiring me, I had a topic that people wanted to hear.

On the other hand, unfortunately, I was sad that I would not be able to meet these people face to face, talk in the hall, over coffee or lunch. Not to tell you how much of the world I flew to meet them in person. I didn't have all these travel and cognitive experiences because, naturally, due to the Covid situation, they were not possible.

Now thinking, then I didn't realise how simple it felt to be "happysad", it hit the spot for my feelings after the conference. But I didn't fully realise it until I got back from Denver and Kscope '23...

Stay tuned for the rest parts ...

above photo from my first on-site conference - HrOUG'21

... and from my last conference - Kscope'23: as of 11/10/2023 -> #JoelKallmanDay ;)